Employment Programmes
Services which are available at all times.
Library Services - we are here to support you
Need help with referencing, searching for good online information sources or using our research databases?
The library is still here to help you. The best way to contact me is by email
diana.mcmahon-reid@manukau.ac.nz
Or you can make an appointment through the library home page. Please include your assignment question or topic OR references.
I am online Monday - Friday 8.00am - 4.00pm
You can also ask any questions through our Chat Now service on the library home page
Learning Services help for students
We are here to support you!
You can book a virtual appointment with Sabina, Karen or Kavita via the Library website or click this link.
Please e-mail your questions (plus your draft, the assignment question and rubric) before your appointment to learning.services@manukau.ac.nz
Please add your student number and telephone number when contacting Learning Services.
There are also useful resources and writing guides in the MIT Study Toolbox.
The study skills handbook by
This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability
Dewey Number: Online and 371.30281 COTPublication Date: 2019
How to Write Better Essays (5th ed.) by
For every student who needs to write essays, from whatever discipline, this book is an essential resource, offering the help and inspiration they need to tackle their essays with confidence. This book takes the reader carefully through each landmark stage of the essay writing process from the interpretation of the question, to the research, planning and revision. They are shown not just how to improve their study skills such as note-taking, reading, organisation and writing, but their thinking skills too. Full of techniques and worked examples, this bestselling guide teaches students how to analyse difficult concepts, criticise and evaluate arguments, use evidence and develop more ideas of their own. It provides clear and practical advice throughout and gives students the confidence they need to tackle written assignments. New for this edition The fifth edition includes a new chapter on staying focused and managing distractions. It also features new techniques for reading sources that will help you form your own judgements and craft strong and original arguments.
Dewey Number: 808.4 GREPublication Date: 2023
Online Books
Got Career Goals? by
It's never too early for teens to start thinking about their future careers, but planning ahead can be stressful and overwhelming. Whether they want to make their dream job a reality or are unsure what field to pursue, this guide will help teenagers assess their interests, skills, and goals and turn them into a rewarding career path. Readers will find out how to research jobs that reflect their talents and personality, how to plan ahead for the qualifications they'll need, and how to gain experience through internships, volunteering, or part-time jobs.
ISBN: 0766099857Publication Date: 2018
Ace Your Resume, Application, and Interview Skills by
Looking for a job can be overwhelming for anyone, especially a teen in search of that first paying gig. In this easy-to-follow guide, readers will learn all the steps to finding, applying, and interviewing for a job. Step-by-step instructions will explain how to build a resume, how to write a compelling cover letter, and how to pen business correspondence. Accessible advice will help job-seeking teens to dress professionally, tackle tricky interview questions, and showcase the very best they have to offer.
ISBN: 1725347083Publication Date: 2019
Successful Job Interviews for Dummies - Australia / NZ by
A friendly guide to the skills and tools you need to ace your next interview - specifically for Australian and New Zealand job seekers! Just landing a job interview in Australia's current economy is a challenge, so you'd better be ready when you do. It's more important than ever that you perform at your best when you get the opportunity for a face-to-face interview. Successful Job Interviews For Dummies, Australian & New Zealand Edition includes handy tips and practical advice for acing any interview, whether you're a new graduate looking for your first job or an experienced professional looking for a career change. You'll find unbeatable advice on every aspect of interviewing, from getting prepared to answer tough questions to negotiating a better salary offer. Presents useful, practical guidance on acing interviews, with a particular focus on the Australian and New Zealand job market Covers such topics as overcoming fear of interviews, asking the right questions, tailoring your qualifications for specific positions, interviewing across cultures, and much more Includes ten ways to win rave reviews and ten interview challenges to master It's tough out there today. When you do get your foot in the door, make sure they can't slam it closed on you. Successful Job Interviews For Dummies gives you the guidance you need to succeed.
ISBN: 0730308073Publication Date: 2014
CVs, Resumes, and LinkedIn by
Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Are you simply looking for a new job in the private or public sector, in research or industry? If your aim is to produce a professional CV or resume, then this book is for you. Based on interviews with recruiters and HR managers, and an analysis of hundreds of CVs from around 40 different countries, the book is structured as a series of FAQs. Topics covered include: how recruiters and HR people analyse a CV whether using a template is a good idea the difference between a CV and a resume how to present your personal details and whether to include a photo how to write an Executive Summary what to write in each section (Education, Work Experience, Skills, Personal Interests) how to write dates how to highlight your language, communication and team skills how to get and write references You will also learn some hints and strategies for writing a: cover letter LinkedIn profile reference letter bio The last chapter of the book contains a simple template to help you get the job of your dreams!
ISBN: 9781493906475Publication Date: 2014
Telephone and Helpdesk Skills by
If you are a non-native English speaker and make telephone calls as part of your work, then this book is for you. By applying the suggested guidelines, you will stand a much greater chance of making an effective telephone call. You will learn how to: prepare for a call both psychologically and from an English language point of view receive calls (if you work on reception) leave messages find out about another company and talk about your own company chase people (i.e. people who have not followed up your requests) deal with difficult calls and callers, and improve your telephone manner use the telephone while working on a help desk or helpline resolve language difficulties (i.e. when you cannot understand the other person's English) improve your pronunciation use resources on the Internet to improve your listening skills The book concludes with a chapter of useful phrases. There is a brief introduction for trainers on how to teach telephone and helpdesk skills within a Business English course.
ISBN: 1493906380Publication Date: 2014
