Databases to search
- Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Contains authoritative biomedicine and life science research articles. - Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowContains articles in all areas of education. Useful for degree level research
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches articles, reports and other academic resources. Includes free access to resources the MIT Library subscribes to.
Additional databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Useful for research for all courses diploma and above.
- Informit New Zealand Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on a wide range of topics relating to New Zealand culture and society. - EBSCO Research Databases This link opens in a new window
An A-Z list of all the EBSCO research databases the MIT library subscibes to.
Systematic Reviews (Filtered Research)
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains systematic reviews on a wide range of health topics. - Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Includes 3,266 active indexed and abstracted journals. 3,129 of them are peer-reviewed.
- Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new window
Contains evidence based practice resources such as Systematic Reviews or Recommended Practice sheets for nursing assignments on interventions or procedures. Also covers sports science.
Open Access
- OpenStax Open access textbooks
- Intech Open Books across a range of science subjects, including engineering, health sciences and social sciences.
Bibliographies
- Mental health, addiction, trauma, violence and abuse A selected bibliographyPrepared by the New Zealand Family Violence Clearinghouse, University
of Auckland, 2018
Related guides
New Zealand research and databases
- The Hub: Find social science researchDo a keyword search or search by topic. Topics include Health, Quality of life and wellbeing.
- Informit New Zealand Collection This link opens in a new windowContains articles on a wide range of topics relating to New Zealand culture and society.
Useful subject guides: