- Manukau Institute of Technology
- Library
- guides
- Nursing Pacific
- Find articles & Pacific research
Nursing Pacific
Related guides
Pasifika health research
- Te Kaveinga – Mental health and wellbeing of Pacific peoplesResults from the New Zealand Mental Health Monitor & Health and Lifestyles Survey.
June 2018 - Pacific Health ReviewPacific Health Review features the latest research in the Pacific Health area.
Search Library databases
Put your keywords into the Search Rapua box, or use specific nursing, health and social sciences specific databases.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
- Proquest Central This link opens in a new window*NB: Maintenance from 2pm to 8pm Sunday 14ht July*
Is a combination of databases (including Nursing & Allied Health) providing journal articles across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
Biomedicine and Life Science Databases
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Contains authoritative biomedicine and life science research articles.
Social Sciences & Mental Health Databases
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- Informit New Zealand Collection This link opens in a new window Contains articles on a wide range of topics relating to New Zealand culture and society.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Searches articles, reports and other academic resources. Includes free access to resources the MIT Library subscribes to.
Clinical Databases:
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window
Contains step by step clinical procedure and skills guides. Many guides have been customised to fit into the New Zealand context. Guides are evidence based and reviewed frequently. - Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
Lippincott Advisor "provides quick access to localised clinical topics, the latest evidence, guidelines, and best-practice information to promote a consistent standard of care.... Lippincott Advisor Australia and New Zealand gives nurses the clinical decision support they need to facilitate delivery of care, make accurate assessments, and build competency and confidence – all while driving positive patient outcomes."
Systematic Review databases:
- Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new window
Contains evidence based practice resources such as Systematic Reviews or Recommended Practice sheets for nursing assignments on interventions or procedures. Also covers sports science. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains systematic reviews on a wide range of health topics. - Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Nursing Reference Center Plus™ is an evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses.
Health & Life Sciences Collection - Access to Science Direct Journal
- Health & Life Sciences Journals CollectionLimit results to Subscription.
Features full-text access of over 1200 current Elsevier journals and over 3800 books in the health and life sciences, covering 1995-present.
- Extensive full-text of authoritative titles from core scientific literature
- Highly cited titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron
- Advanced access to peer-reviewed articles accepted for publication
- Different levels of knowledge from review articles to new cutting edge articles
Annotated bibliography resources
- Writing an annotated bibliographyMonash Univerity
- Massey University OWLL- Sample annotated bibliographyChapter in an edited book by Professor Konai Helu Thaman.
Pacific health profiles
Introduction to Pacific research
Evidence-based health practice by Dewey Number: 610.72 EVIPublication Date: 2014Chapter 7: Pacific research
Websites
- Pacific Health Clearinghouse: Research, Information and ResourcesCounties Manukau Health Library Database & Resource Directory - Links to information related to the health of Pasifika communities in Auckland.
- Ministry of Health: Pacific HealthLinks to Government policies, documents, websites and organisations related to Pacific Health in New Zealand.
- Pasefika Proud ResourcesFind resources relating to family violence, including frameworks, research and infographics. Including literature reviews on culture and family violence in seven Pacific communities (Samoa, Fiji, Tonga, Cook Islands, Tuvalu, Tokelau, Niue) in New Zealand
Pacific Island Countries
- WHO: Regional Office for the Western PacificFind health information on Pacific countries
Research Repositories
- NZResearch.orgFind research from New Zealand universities and polytechnics.
Indigenous online journals
- Pacific Health Dialog: The Journal of Pacific ResearchRegister for a username and password to gain free access to this journal.
- AlterNative JournalUse this link to get full-text access (including most recent issue)
- New Zealand Medical JournalRead articles online or download, or download a whole issue as PDF.
- BioMed Central Public Health (open access) To retrieve NZ themed articles, simply type in "New Zealand" in the search box.
Bibliographies
Focus on NZ Childen
Child poverty in New Zealand by Dewey Number: eBookPublication Date: 2014Print copy at Ōtara Library 362.70993 BOS
