Books on the shelf
Foodservice management fundamentals by
Foodservice Management Fundamentals focuses on the tools necessary for managing foodservice operations in today's aggressive business environment. Reynolds & McClusky show readers how to position, manage, and leverage a successful food service operation--commercial and non-commercial--in a variety of venues. Using a menu-driven approach, the book will be full of management tools, best practices, and techniques. Reynolds brings a hospitality and business background while McClusky brings experience and expertise in nutrition & dietetics.
Dewey Number: 647.95068 REYPublication Date: 2013
The restaurant: From concept to operation by
The Restaurant: From Concept to Operation, 7th Edition takes the reader from the initial idea to the grand opening. It features comprehensive, applications-based coverage of all aspects of developing, opening, and running a restaurant. This includes topics such as staffing, legal and regulatory concerns, cost control and general financing, marketing and promotion, equipment and design, the menu, sanitation, and concept. A one-stop guide to the restaurant business, the Seventh Edition of Walker's, The Restaurant continues the success of previous editions, providing, in an easy-to-read way, all of the skills and information needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Each chapter has been revised, updated, and enhanced with numerous industry examples, sidebars, charts, tables, photographs, and menus. Greater emphasis is placed on restaurant business plans, restaurant management, and restaurant operations. The themes of sustainability and sustainable restaurant management have been added throughout. The Seventh Edition includes new sections on purchasing meat, cocktails, and the early history of eating out. All of this information will help restaurant owners make the decisions necessary to build a thriving business.
Dewey Number: 647.95068 WALPublication Date: 2013
The professional restaurant manager by
The Professional Restaurant Manager covers the topics all restaurant managers must know to be successful in the industry. Organized in a quick-read, four-part format, the book offers a fresh look at the restaurant business, back-of-house management, front-of-house management, and financial management. Discussion prompts are built right in so students can respond to real case studies and illustrations. Financial documents reference the newest version of the Uniform System of Accounts for Restaurants. An extensive glossary is provided and authors review important trends in sustainability, green practices and farm-to-fork movements.
Dewey Number: 647.95068 HAYPublication Date: 2013
Design and Equipment for Restaurants and Foodservice by Dewey Number: 647.95068 DESPublication Date: 2016
Where to look on the shelves
Use the Dewey numbers to find books in the Ōtara Campus Library.
| Food safety | 363.192 |
| Nutrition | 613.2 |
| Cooking | 641 |
| Wine | 641.22 |
| Food service | 647.95 |
| Menu planning | 642 |
Books on the internet
Food and beverage management by Dewey Number: eBookPublication Date: 2018Find on the shelf at 647.95068 DAV
Design and equipment for restaurants and foodservice by Dewey Number: eBookPublication Date: 2008Find on the shelf at 647.95068 KAT
Culinary calculations by
The math skills needed for a successful foodservice career'now in a new edition Culinary Calculations, Second Edition provides the mathematical knowledge and skills that are essential for a successful career in today's competitive foodservice industry. This user-friendly guide starts with basic principles before introducing more specialized topics like recipe conversion and costing, AP/EP, menu pricing, and inventory costs. Written in a nontechnical, easy-to-understand style, the book features a running case study that applies math concepts to a real-world example: opening a restaurant. This revised and updated Second Edition of Culinary Calculations covers relevant math skills for four key areas: Basic math for the culinary arts and foodservice industry Math for the professional kitchen Math for the business side of the foodservice industry Computer applications for the foodservice industry Each chapter is rich with resources, including learning objectives, helpful callout boxes for particular concepts, example menus and price lists, and information tables. Review questions, homework problems, and the case study end each chapter. Also included is an answer key for the even-numbered problems throughout the book. Culinary Calculations, Second Edition provides readers with a better understanding of the culinary math skills needed to expand their foodservice knowledge and sharpen their business savvy as they strive for success in their careers in the foodservice industry.
Publication Date: 2008
Write the perfect business plan by
Make your business plan solid, professional and, most importantly, successful.
Publication Date: 2010
Menu planning by
Menu Planning 1 Menu Planning 2 Kitchen Areas Kitchen Arrangement Kitchen Design Tips for Setting a Dining Table Style of Food Service Order Taking
Publication Date: 2008
Articles
Find interesting articles using our Hospitality databases.
- MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
- Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Click on the link
- Search your keywords
- Limit your search results using the side bar tools.
If you can't find what you looking for, contact your subject librarian.
