- Manukau Institute of Technology
- Library
- guides
- Engineering
- Engineering project
Engineering
Online and library resources to help you find information for your final project
Research tips and writing resources
| Report writing | 808.0666 |
- Find expert knowledge in books on the subject
- Ask your supervisor for advice on good books or articles for your research
Research is all about knowing what you need and finding the right terms and search strategies to find the information. Here are some questions to start you off:
- What do I already know?
- What more do I need to know?
- Who are the experts in the field and what terms do they use?
- How does the information that I've found fit with what I need?
On this page there are links to library databases/online journals and business/technical writing books to help you get started. Start with the Search box above.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches articles, reports and other academic resources. Includes free access to resources the MIT Library subscribes to.
The craft of scientific writing by
This book is also available online.
Dewey Number: 808.0665 ALLPublication Date: 2018
Writing for science : A practical handbook for science, engineering and technology students by
Good advice for writing lab reports and more
Dewey Number: 808.0666 SILPublication Date: 2012
Articles from library databases
- Search Rapua This link opens in a new window MIT Library's new discovery service and catalogue combined
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library is a Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters on Computing and computer engineering. NB: ACM eBooks are not included in our subscription.
- Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new window Useful for all engineering courses. Very good for computer, electronic, civil, materials and environmental engineering.
- Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window Provides news and reviews in areas such as hardware, sofware, engineering and the applications of technology.
- Standards New Zealand This link opens in a new window Contains NZS and joint AS/NZS standards for use while at Manukau Institute of Technology.
Other online articles
- IEEE Xplore IEEE curated articles
- Proceedings of the IEEE Journal Proceedings of the IEEE is the leading journal to provide in-depth review, survey, and tutorial coverage of the technical developments in electronics, electrical engineering, and computer science.
Can't find a free copy of an article? - interloan up to 4 articles through the library.
Useful websites
- Electrical Engineering Portal Lots of free information for your project
Engineering reports online
