Where to look on the shelves
Use the Dewey or Call number to find books on Level 4 of the Main Library (South Campus).
| English dictionaries | 423 |
| English grammar | 428.24 |
| IELTS | 428.34 |
| English readers | 428.6 |
| Language dictionaries | 430 - 499 |
| Presentations | 808.51 |
Resources
Advanced Grammar in Use with Answers by
A fully updated version of the highly successful grammar title. This new revised edition focuses specifically on the complexities of grammatical choices that advanced students need to appreciate. It also includes a comprehensive Basic Grammar Reference so students can easily review their understanding of language areas they have previously studied. This edition, with answers, is ideal for self-study.
Dewey Number: 428.24 HEWPublication Date: 2015 3rd ed.
Oxford EAP : a course in English for academic purposes. Advanced, C1 by Dewey Number: 428.24 DECISBN: 9780194001793Publication Date: 2013
Critical reading : English for academic purposes by
Critical Reading provides a systematic introduction to the process of analysing and evaluating a written text. Students develop critical reading skills through analysis of texts from authentic sources (journals, newspapers, magazines, and websites) and a variety of academic disciplines. They are encouraged to develop their comprehension and vocabulary skills, while forming a reasoned assessment of the effectiveness and validity of a text.
Dewey Number: 428.24 PATPublication Date: 2015
Collins work on your vocabulary. Advanced (C1).
Hundreds of words to learn and remember Collins Work on your Vocabulary - Advanced (C1) is a new practice book that covers the key vocabulary needed by learners of English at Advanced level (CEF level C1). This book is an essential resource for learners who want to improve their English vocabulary. Each of the 30 units presents vocabulary relating to a particular topic using clear language and examples. This is followed by practice exercises to ensure the learner will remember and be able to use what they have learnt with confidence in their written and spoken English. The vocabulary covered in Collins Work on your Vocabulary - Advanced (C1) has been carefully selected based on Collins Corpus research and the experience of our language experts. As a result, this book provides plenty of useful practice with authentic, up-to-date examples of language usage in context. A carefully structured layout makes sure the language is always clear and the book is easy to navigate. Collins Work on your Vocabulary - Advanced (C1) is ideal for self-study or for use in the classroom, and is an essential resource for students and teachers. * Focuses on the vocabulary required at Advanced level (CEF level C1) * Thirty units with clear presentation material followed by practice exercises * Authentic examples of real English, taken from the Collins Corpus * Clear structure and presentation of language * Plenty of room to write in * Full answer key included * Ideal for self-study or for use in the classroom
Dewey Number: 428.1 COLPublication Date: 2013
Expand Your English : a guide to improving your academic vocabulary by ISBN: 9888455087Publication Date: 2017- Advanced Academic Grammar for ESL Students by This textbook was created for an advanced academic grammar course for ESL studentsDewey Number: Open AccessPublication Date: 2021
Telephone and Helpdesk Skills by
If you are a non-native English speaker and make telephone calls as part of your work, then this book is for you. By applying the suggested guidelines, you will stand a much greater chance of making an effective telephone call. You will learn how to: prepare for a call both psychologically and from an English language point of view receive calls (if you work on reception) leave messages find out about another company and talk about your own company chase people (i.e. people who have not followed up your requests) deal with difficult calls and callers, and improve your telephone manner use the telephone while working on a help desk or helpline resolve language difficulties (i.e. when you cannot understand the other person's English) improve your pronunciation use resources on the Internet to improve your listening skills The book concludes with a chapter of useful phrases. There is a brief introduction for trainers on how to teach telephone and helpdesk skills within a Business English course.
Dewey Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014-06-19
Email and Commercial Correspondence by
If you write emails and letters as part of your work, then this book is for you. By applying the suggested guidelines, you will stand a much greater chance of getting the desired reply to your emails in the shortest time possible. Some of the key guidelines covered include: Write meaningful subject lines - otherwise recipients may not even open your mail. Always put the most important point in the first line - otherwise the reader may not read it. Be concise and only mention what is truly relevant. Write the minimum amount possible - you will also make fewer mistakes! Be a little too formal than too informal - you don't want to offend anyone. If you have two long important things to say, say them in separate emails. Give clear instructions and reasonable deadlines. If you need people to cooperate with you, it is essential to highlight the benefits for them of cooperating with you. Empathize with your recipient's busy workload. Never translate typical phrases literally - learn equivalent phrases. The book concludes with a chapter of useful phrases. There is also a brief introduction for trainers on how to teach Business / Commercial English.
Dewey Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Cvs, Resumes, Cover Letters and Linkedin by
Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Are you simply looking for a new job in the private or public sector, in research or industry? If your aim is to produce a professional CV or resume, then this book is for you. Based on interviews with recruiters and HR managers, and an analysis of hundreds of CVs from around 40 different countries, the book is structured as a series of FAQs. Topics covered include: how recruiters and HR people analyse a CV whether using a template is a good idea the difference between a CV and a resume how to present your personal details and whether to include a photo how to write an Executive Summary what to write in each section (Education, Work Experience, Skills, Personal Interests) how to write dates how to highlight your language, communication and team skills how to get and write references You will also learn some hints and strategies for writing a: cover letter LinkedIn profile reference letter bio The last chapter of the book contains a simple template to help you get the job of your dreams!
Dewey Number: 650.142 WALPublication Date: 2014
Business Vocabulary in Use Intermediate by
The words you need to communicate with confidence in business today. Vocabulary explanations and practice for intermediate (B1 to B2) students and professionals looking to improve their knowledge and use of business English. This book is perfect for both self-study and classroom activities. It helps you to expand your vocabulary with easy to understand explanations and practice exercises, learn business language in context with 66 different topics and skills, and be confident about what you are learning, thanks to Cambridge research into how business English is really spoken and written. Follow-up tasks and an easy to use answer key will help you to study by yourself.
Dewey Number: 428.24 MASPublication Date: 2017
Key Words for Hospitality by
Collins COBUILD Key Words for Hospitality is a brand-new vocabulary book aimed at anyone who wants to study or work in hospitality. The title contains the 500 most important words and phrases you will need to succeed and includes practice material to make sure you really learn them. This title has been specially created for foreign learners of English who want to improve their career prospects in hospitality by learning English. The title covers the most common words found in this area, and will give learners a solid grounding in the key words and phrases that they will need as they start their studies or career in the hospitality industry. Collins COBUILD Key Words for Hospitality is unique in that the vocabulary items are organized alphabetically, in a dictionary style, and words are clearly labelled according to topic. Vocabulary-building features, synonyms, and collocations help learners to enrich their vocabulary and increase their accuracy and fluency. Vocabulary items are explained using simple language and are presented in a clear and easy-to-use format. Example sentences for every entry show how the word is really used in English and have been taken from subject-specific corpora from the 4.5-billion-word Collins Corpus. To help users consolidate what they have learnt, the title also contains a thematic word list section, organized according to topic. There is a self-study section which includes practice material, which will ensure that users really learn these fundamental words and phrases. The title also includes downloadable audio, which contains audio of all 500 headwords and example sentences. Communication for work and study is crucial, so this additional help with pronunciation will help to build the learner's confidence when speaking English.
Dewey Number: 647.94 COLPublication Date: 2013
Key Words for Automotive Engineering: B1+ (Collins COBUILD Key Words)
Collins COBUILD Key Words for Automotive Engineering is a brand-new vocabulary book aimed at anyone who wants to study or work in the field of automotive engineering. The title contains the 500 most important words and phrases you will need to succeed and includes practice material to make sure you really learn them. This title has been specially created for foreign learners of English who want to improve their career prospects in automotive engineering by learning English. The title covers the most common words found in this area, and will give learners a solid grounding in the key words and phrases that they will need as they start their studies or career in automotive engineering. Collins COBUILD Key Words for Automotive Engineering is unique in that the vocabulary items are organized alphabetically, in a dictionary style, and words are clearly labelled according to topic. Vocabulary-building features, synonyms, and collocations help learners to enrich their vocabulary and increase their accuracy and fluency. Vocabulary items are explained using simple language and are presented in a clear and easy-to-use format. Example sentences for every entry show how the word is really used in English and have been taken from subject-specific corpora from the 4.5-billion-word Collins Corpus. To help users consolidate what they have learnt, the title also contains a thematic word list section, organized according to topic. There is a self-study section which includes practice material, which will ensure that users really learn these fundamental words and phrases. The title also includes downloadable audio, which contains audio of all 500 headwords and example sentences. Communication for work and study is crucial, so this additional help with pronunciation will help to build the learner's confidence when speaking English.
Dewey Number: 629.25 COLPublication Date: 2013
Databases
- Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context College is a good starting point for research - Australian and New Zealand - Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps you evaluate the controversy and enhances your ability to read critically, develop your own perspective on the issues and write or debate an effective argument.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Includes resources from newspapers, magazines, audio and video on a range of subjects related to social issues.