Māori
Nau mai, Haere mai ki te Whare Mātauranga. Welcome to our Library.
Top Picks
Te Kōparapara: an introduction to the Māori world by Dewey Number: 305.899442 KOPPublication Date: 2018
Tangata whenua: An illustrated history by
Also available on the internet via the Treaty of Waitangi Collection
Dewey Number: 993.00499442 ANDPublication Date: 2014
Tikanga Māori: Living by Māori values (Revised edition) by Dewey Number: eBookPublication Date: 2016
Kei Tua o te Pae Hui proceedings: Changing worlds, changing tikanga - educating history and the future by Dewey Number: 390.08999442 KEIPublication Date: 2013
Nga tini whetu: Navigating Maori futures by ISBN: eBookPublication Date: 2013Find print copies on the shelf at Dewey Number 330.08999442 DUR
Books on the shelves
Tikanga whakaaro: Key concepts in Maori culture by Dewey Number: 305.899442 BARPublication Date: 1991
Books on the internet
- Treaty of Waitangi Collection This link opens in a new window Key Treaty books and also histories such as The Great War for New Zealand: Waitako 1800-2000.
Colonization and development in New Zealand between 1769 and 1900 by Dewey Number: ebookPublication Date: 2015
Colonising Myths - Maori Realities by Dewey Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013Find print copies on the shelf at Dewey Number 342.93 MIK
Articles
- New Zealand Electronic Text Collection Access a collection of historic and contemporary Māori and Pacific Islands texts.
Journals
ManaDewey Number: 305.899442 MAN
- MAI Journal: A New Zealand Journal of Indigenous Scholarship An open access journal with multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles that critically analyse and address indigenous and Pacific issues in the context of Aotearoa. See also: http://www.review.mai.ac.nz/mrindex/
Watch online
- NZOnScreen: Māori Access titles that explore Māori culture and heritage, including self determination (eg the documentary Bastion Point).
- Waatea Television Watch online news and current affairs videos
- eTV This link opens in a new window Live and on demand Maori content Log in with your MIT Single Sign on account e.g. students: ....@manukaumail.co, staff: ....@manukau.ac.nz.
Websites
- Te Puni Kōkiri The Ministry of Māori Development website contains many official publications of government census and population study information, funding and scholarship opportunities and Māori in business.
- Matariki Articles, video, audio, images, websites and primary sources on Matariki curated by National Library
- Te Kāhui Māngai (Directory of Iwi and Māori Organisations) Te Kāhui Māngai(TKM) is an online directory which provides information on New Zealand iwi, including their rohe, hapū, marae and representative organisations. It also includes certain national and Māori organisations.
- Māori Maps A source for maps, information, and photographs of the tribal marae of Aotearoa.
- Reo Māori resources Resources to support learning te reo
Where to look on the shelves
|
Māoritanga / Māori culture |
305.899442, 398.20993 |
|
Māori dictionaries Learning Te Reo Readers for children in Maori |
499.4423 499.4428 499.44286 (in boxes) |
|
Tiriti o Waitangi Treaty of Waitangi |
305.8 (Political) 323.1199442 993 (Historical) |