Websites
- Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori Māori Language Commission
- MāoriLanguage.net Learn the basics of Te Reo online.
- Kupu o te Rā Subscribe to receive words of the day or browse word lists and test yourself.
- NZ History: Te Wiki o Te Reo Māori Includes useful word lists
- Te Whanake Māori language online
- Te Ipukarea The National Māori Language Institute.
- Waateanews.com Māori Radio Station
- Irirangi.net Māori radio broadcasting
- Reo Māori resources Resources to support learning te reo
Podcasts
- Up to speed with Te reo Māori Spotify podcast with Stacy Morrison
- Everday Māori Podcast series on Spotify
Mobile Apps
There are a number apps available free from the App Store (Apple devices) and/or Google Play (Android devices). These include:
Kia Mataara - developed especially for Manukau Institute of Technology staff and students to learn some important aspects of Māori culture and language.
Te Reo Māori - Māori Dictionary by AUT
Te Pūmanawa - Māori Language and Culture App by Māori Multimedia (only the trial version is free)
Watch online
- Māori Television Includes language learning shows such as Tokū Reo and Ako.
- Tōku Reo Official website of the Tōku Reo tv show. Features podcasts, exercises and videos.
- Waatea TV Online news and current affairs videos, some in te reo.
- NZOnScreen: Māori Titles exploring Māori culture and heritage, some in te reo.
- eTV Log in using your MIT student email to find tv programmes with te reo content.
Waiata
- Tāmata Toiere Waiata and haka lyrics
- Te Kete Ipurangi Te Reo Māori in English Medium Schools - Hei Waiata, Hei Whakakoakoa
Whakataukī
- NZ Electronic Text Collection: Ngā kōrero a Reweti Kohere mā Section: He kupu, he pepeha, he whakatauki
Books on the shelf - about Te Reo
Te Ahu o Te Reo Maori: reflecting on research to understand the well-being of te reo Māori by Dewey Number: 499.442 AHUPublication Date: 2018
Dictionaries
- Te Aka Māori DictionaryOnline version.
- Ngata DictionaryOnline at Learning Media
Te Aka: Māori-English, English-Māori dictionary by Dewey Number: 499.442321 MOOPublication Date: 2011
He puna kupu, he manawa aa-whenua Waikato-Tainu by
A dictionary of the Maaori language using the Waikato-Tainui dialect.
Dewey Number: 499.442 PUNPublication Date: 2019
Books on the shelf - learn Te Reo
Māori made easy: For everyday learners of the Māori language by Dewey Number: 499.4428 MORPublication Date: 2015
Māori at home: An everyday guide to learning the Māori language by Dewey Number: 499.4428 MORPublication Date: 2017
Te Kākano by
The first of the four Te Whanake textbooks for which there are supporting podcasts and exercises online at http://podcasts.tewhanake.maori.nz/
Dewey Number: 499.4428 MOOPublication Date: 2001
Te rito by
The follow up to Mai i te Kākano, also held in the library at the same Dewey number.
Dewey Number: 499.442 JACPublication Date: 2017
Books on the internet
The value of the Maori language: Te hua o te Reo Maori by Dewey Number: eBookPublication Date: 2014Find print copies on the shelf at Dewey Number 306.4408999442 VAL
