Google scholar
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches articles, reports and other academic resources. Includes free access to resources the MIT Library subscribes to.
Search Library databases
Put your keywords into the Search Rapua box, or use specific nursing, health and social sciences specific databases.
Academic Research Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
-
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window Is a combination of databases (including Nursing & Allied Health) providing journal articles across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
Biomedicine and Life Science Databases
-
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
-
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Contains authoritative biomedicine and life science research articles. -
Health & Life Sciences Journals Collection Limit results to Subscription. Features full-text access of over 1200 current Elsevier journals and over 3800 books in the health and life sciences, covering 1995-present. - Extensive full-text of authoritative titles from core scientific literature - Highly cited titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron - Advanced access to peer-reviewed articles accepted for publication - Different levels of knowledge from review articles to new cutting edge articles
Social Sciences & Mental Health Databases
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
-
Informit This link opens in a new window Provides access to journals, conference proceedings, books and reports across a broad range of subjects from and about Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific and South East Asia.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Searches articles, reports and other academic resources. Includes free access to resources the MIT Library subscribes to.
Clinical Databases: Point of Care & Evidence Based
-
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool of more than 3000 topics designed for physicians and health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. DynaMed monitors the content of over 500 medical journal and systemic evidence review databases.
-
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window
Contains step by step clinical procedure and skills guides. Many guides have been customised to fit into the New Zealand context. Guides are evidence based and reviewed frequently. -
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
Lippincott Advisor "provides quick access to localised clinical topics, the latest evidence, guidelines, and best-practice information to promote a consistent standard of care.... Lippincott Advisor Australia and New Zealand gives nurses the clinical decision support they need to facilitate delivery of care, make accurate assessments, and build competency and confidence – all while driving positive patient outcomes."
Systematic Review databases:
-
Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new window
Contains evidence based practice resources such as Systematic Reviews or Recommended Practice sheets for nursing assignments on interventions or procedures. Also covers sports science. -
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains systematic reviews of research on a wide range of health topics (efficacy of drugs, treatments and therapies etc). -
Nursing and Allied Health Reference Source This link opens in a new window provides evidence-based care sheets, clinical reviews, exercise sheets, skills with in-context images and videos, quick lessons and research instruments.
New Zealand research and databases
-
The Hub: Find social science researchDo a keyword search or search by topic. Topics include Health, Quality of life and wellbeing.
-
Informit This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journals, conference proceedings, books and reports across a broad range of subjects from and about Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific and South East Asia.
Useful subject guides:
Websites
-
WHO: Regional Office for the Western PacificFind health information on Pacific countries including New Zealand.
Clinical databases
-
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new windowContains step by step clinical procedure and skills guides. Many guides have been customised to fit into the New Zealand context. Guides are evidence based and reviewed frequently.
Online Journals
New Zealand Journals
-
New Zealand Medical JournalRead articles online or download, or download a whole issue as PDF.
International Journals
Online Nursing Journal Collections
-
Nursing Journals Collection (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowContains over 50 nursing journals covering a broad range of nursing topics.
Systematic reviews
Find systematic reviews on a variety of health topics.
-
Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new windowContains evidence based practice resources such as Systematic Reviews or Recommended Practice sheets for nursing assignments on interventions or procedures. Also covers sports science.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowContains systematic reviews of research on a wide range of health topics (efficacy of drugs, treatments and therapies etc).