- Manukau Institute of Technology
- Library
- guides
- Early Childhood Education
- Bachelor of Education (ECT)
Early Childhood Education
Welcome to the Early Childhood Education Subject Guide, a good place to start when searching for resources to support your studies. If you have any questions email your Subject Librarian.
Guiding Practice Documents
Te Whariki : He whariki matauranga mo nga mokopuna o Aotearoa : Early childhood curriculum by Dewey Number: 372.210993 WHAPublication Date: 2017
- Te Whatu Pokeko KAUPAPA MAORI ASSESSMENT FOR LEARNING EARLY CHILDHOOD EXEMPLARS
- Our code Our standards Education Council code and standards for early childhood teachers
Where to look
Use the Dewey number to find books on Level 4 of the Main Library (South Campus).
| Developmental psychology | 155 |
| Child development | 305.231 |
| Child care workers | 362.712 |
| Early childhood education | 372.21 |
| Early childhood education in New Zealand | 372.210993 |
| Childcare | 649 |
Referencing
Referencing is essential to acknowledge the source of the information you have used and to avoid plagiarism. For information on APA Referencing check out our handy guide.
Contact your subject librarian if you are unsure how to reference the information you use.
- APA Referencing Quiz Quiz from EIT to help explain how to reference different resources.
- ZoterobibThis free service helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.
- Plagiarism Quiz Quiz from EIT to help you recognise plagiarism
Welcome
Here you will find all textbooks and key titles for the Bachelor of Education (ECT) Degree.
For additional texts and resources to support your study and assignments use the tabs to the left where you will find them marked by year of study.
Top Texts Online
Programming & planning in early childhood settings by
Programming & Planning in Early Childhood Settings explores a range of approaches to curriculum and to documenting children's learning in early childhood settings. This valuable resource for early childhood education students and practitioners provides a broad view of the concepts and issues in early childhood curriculum.
Dewey Number: Online and 372.21 PROPublication Date: 2021 (8th ed.)
Ngā Hurihanga Ako Kohungahunga = Transformative teaching practices in early childhood education by Dewey Number: 372.21 HUR and onlinePublication Date: 2013
Understanding the Te Whariki approach by
Source of information for those wishing to extend and consolidate their understanding of the Te Whariki approach. Also available as an ebook.
Dewey Number: Online and 372.210993 UNDPublication Date: 2013
Infants, Toddlers, and Caregivers (12th ed.) by
Infants Toddlers and Caregivers is an ideal introduction to care and education in the first three years of life featuring a respectful approach inspired by field pioneers Magda Gerber and Dr. Emmi Pikler. The program provides practical information based on theoretical and research foundations that students can implement in a variety of infant and toddler settings. With the impacts of school readiness and technology in early childhood education today this program focuses on the value of free play the development of self-reliance and the importance of responsive respectful interactions.
Dewey Number: Online and 362.712 GONPublication Date: 2020
Human development: Family, place, culture by Dewey Number: Online and 155 CLAPublication Date: 2014 (2nd edition)
Children's Interests, Inquiries and Identities: Curriculum, Pedagogy, Learning and Outcomes in the Early Years by
This book offers a critical and accessible engagement with research on children's interests that challenges us to move beyond surface-level understandings.
Dewey Number: Online and 372.21 HEDPublication Date: 2022
- The Wiley Handbook of Early Childhood Care and Education
Editor(s):Christopher P. Brown, Mary Benson McMullen, Nancy File
First published:15 February 2019
Top Texts in Print
Techniques for teaching young children: Choices for theory and practice by
An introductory early childhood text specialising in skills and techniques. Offers a blend of theory and practice by describing and demonstrating teaching techniques used in early childhood education, ranging from the simple to the complex.
Dewey Number: 372.21 MACPublication Date: 2009
Learning Theories for Early Years Practice by
Understanding and applying learning theories is crucial to the transition from study or training, to practice in a real-world setting. This new textbook will prepare the reader by demonstrating how key learning theories pan out in practice, with the aid of photographs, examples and clear explanations. Divided into three main sections, Early Influences, Modern Influences, and Challenges for Theorists in a Changing World, this author identifies the key theorists in early childhood, past and present, before linking them to the main issues and developments that face early years practitioners today. An explanation of each key theorist is guided by a clear structure, including: links to other theorists strengths and weaknesses of the theory the theory in practice Packed full of case studies, activities, points for discussion, extended and recommended reading, this is a fantastic resource for students and teachers who want to build a strong foundation in learning theories, to enable them to support the young children in their care as effectively as possible.
Dewey Number: 372.21 MCBPublication Date: 2018
Foundations of early childhood education by
Foundations of Early Childhood Education: Teaching Children in a Diverse Society is designed to help increase the quality in early care and education programs through training teachers. It features skill building with a solid theoretical base, and provides students with an overview of early childhood programs through the use of examples, anecdotes, and scenarios. Readers will come away with an understanding of what makes a quality early childhood education program, where children gain the foundations they need for school success and beyond. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect#65533; is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook#65533; - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
Dewey Number: 372.21 GONPublication Date: 2013
Mai i Rangiatea by
Mai i Rangiatea provides some Maori perceptions of healthy growth and development. It introduces a Maori developmental discourse which affirms a cultural base with an affinity to the discourses of other indigenous peoples. Western concepts of human development have oversimplified the process by emphasizing individuality as the core, then generalizing to the whole. Maori acknowledgment of the interdependency between the individual and the group gives some basis for alternative discourses.
Dewey Number: 305.899442 MAIPublication Date: 1997
Young Children and Their Communities by
By approaching the concept of community through the lens of early childhood, this valuable book acknowledges the role that diverse and multiple communities play in supporting a child¿s early development, and explores how their value can be harnessed in our ever-evolving and fast-changing world. Young Children and Their Communities delves deeper into the many layers of communities to which children belong. With a focus on key theoretical perspectives, such as social empathy and the pedagogy of friendships, the book seeks to expand readers¿ understanding of the concept of community by considering a range of both established and emerging communities, including peer groups, digital communities, the extended family and intergenerational learning. Chapters explore how various communities contribute to and enhance young children¿s lives, and examine how children can in turn enrich the communities they are part of. Illustrative vignettes and points for reflection are included throughout, along with helpful research summaries and links to current policy. Reiterating the importance of communities and illustrating the rich opportunities they offer to children, Young Children and Their Communities will inform students¿ and early years practitioners¿ practice as they confront new challenges and opportunities in fields of early childhood education, social work and sociology.
Dewey Number: 305.23 YOUPublication Date: 2018
International Journals
- Asia-Pacific Journal of Research in Early Childhood Education Open access journal of the Pacific Early Childhood Education Research Association
New Zealand Journals
- The first years - New Zealand journal of infant and toddler education Hard copy only - available on the shelves at 372.210993 FIR
- AKO Journal Journal produced by NZEI covering early childhood and primary education
- New Zealand Journal of Educational Studies Official publication of the New Zealand Association for research in education.
- Early Chidhood Council Swings & Roundabouts is the magazine published by the Early Childhood Council
- Scope: Contemporary Research topics: Learning &TeachingJournal produced by Otago Polytechnic
Articles
Find interesting articles using our Education databases
How to use the databases
- Click on the link
- Search your keywords
- Limit your search results using the side bar tools.
If you can't find what you looking for, contact your subject librarian.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 2,000 active indexed and abstracted journals in Education research. As well as more than 4,100 full-text education-related conference papers.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Contains articles in all areas of education. Useful for degree level research
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and indexes for articles on a range of education topics.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Useful for research for all courses diploma and above
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Useful for research for all courses diploma and above.
- Informit New Zealand Collection This link opens in a new window Contains articles on a wide range of topics relating to New Zealand culture and society.
Websites
- Tāhurāngi Ministry of Education resources for teaching early childhood
