Early Childhood Education
Professional inquiry 1: The Begining Teacher
Professional Teacher Dispositions by
The editors and authors of Professional Teacher Dispositions: Additions to the Mainstream contribute to the long tradition in education of the discussions of teacher dispositions. It is intended for novice and experienced teachers, for those who educate future teachers, and for those who hire teachers. This book includes theoretical aspects of dispositions in education and case vignettes for discussion and reflection. Professional Teacher Dispositions provides a resource for school administrators in the professional selection of teachers, teacher educators in the selection of candidates for teacher education programs, and as a basis for developing professional development or pre-service activities in education. The authors address issues of character and passion that have a profound impact on the decision to be a teacher, the reasons for teaching and effect the day-to-day functioning of teachers in our school classrooms. Chapters address social justice and equity issues, reflection, caring, love, teaching as a calling.
Dewey Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Infants, Toddlers, and Caregivers (12th ed.) by
Print copies of earlier additions are also available at 362.712 GON
Dewey Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Care and education in early childhood by
The authors draw on their extensive early years experience to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the key issues in the field of early childhood care and education. In this fully updated and revised new edition, rewritten to include the new Early Years Foundation Stage, students will find that this text now meets the needs of students on Foundation degrees, Early Childhood Degrees and the new Early Years Professional qualification. Topics covered in this essential textbook include: an overview of the principles of effective practice discussions on equal opportunities and children's rights an update of the latest development theories relating to brain development and how children learn and the difficulties children may face in their learning investigations into what working with parents really means consideration of the different early years systems in operation summaries of key management issues and useful information on how to address them comparison with European perspectives on early years care and education the importance of play in children's early learning. Readers of thissecond edition will also find the expansion of existing chapters in order to include topics such as inclusion, transitions, child protection in relation to the internet and partnerships with parents. The book covers the whole age range from birth to eight years with a special section on the birth to three years age group. Each chapter is fully referenced and has case studies or reflective practice boxes within the text. Informative and engaging, the book challenges the reader to think about how underlying theory may be reflected in practice. It will be essential reading for all students who are studying for early childhood qualifications at levels four, five and six."
Publication Date: 2014
Foundations of early childhood education by
Foundations of Early Childhood Education: Teaching Children in a Diverse Society is designed to help increase the quality in early care and education programs through training teachers. It features skill building with a solid theoretical base, and provides students with an overview of early childhood programs through the use of examples, anecdotes, and scenarios. Readers will come away with an understanding of what makes a quality early childhood education program, where children gain the foundations they need for school success and beyond. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect#65533; is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook#65533; - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
Dewey Number: 372.21 GONPublication Date: 2013
Learning Theories for Early Years Practice by
Understanding and applying learning theories is crucial to the transition from study or training, to practice in a real-world setting. This new textbook will prepare the reader by demonstrating how key learning theories pan out in practice, with the aid of photographs, examples and clear explanations. Divided into three main sections, Early Influences, Modern Influences, and Challenges for Theorists in a Changing World, this author identifies the key theorists in early childhood, past and present, before linking them to the main issues and developments that face early years practitioners today. An explanation of each key theorist is guided by a clear structure, including: links to other theorists strengths and weaknesses of the theory the theory in practice Packed full of case studies, activities, points for discussion, extended and recommended reading, this is a fantastic resource for students and teachers who want to build a strong foundation in learning theories, to enable them to support the young children in their care as effectively as possible.
Dewey Number: 372.21 MCBPublication Date: 2018How Children Learn: From Montessori to Vygotsky - educational theories and approaches made easy by Summarises the findings and ideas of 30 educational theorists and psychologists (eg, Montessori, Piaget, Dewey) and different approaches to education (eg, Steiner, High/Scope, Te Whariki)
Dewey Number: 372.21 POUPublication Date: 2016Contemporary theorists and thinkers on early years' education by Explores the thought-provoking ideas emerging from contemporary theorists and researchers on how children learn and develop
Dewey Number: 372.21 POUPublication Date: 2016
How children learn by
An ideal introduction to the pioneers of educational theory for anyone studying childcare, child development or education - whether at further or higher education level. The first edition of this book has been a best-seller for almost a decade, identified as one of the top ten books for students of child development or early childhood care and education.In this new edition, there is an increased emphasis on both what practice based on particular theories of learning looks like and on criticisms of each theory. A glossary is included in sections highlighting words and concepts particular to the theorist in question. Full-colour photographs are used to illustrate some aspects of each theory or approach.How Children Learn looks at a wide range of theorists and practitioners who have influenced current understandings of how children learn and what this means for work with young children. The book summarises the findings and ideas of famous giants such as Montessori and Piaget as well...
Dewey Number: 372.21 POU and onlineISBN: 9781909280731Publication Date: 2014
Professional Inquiry 2: The Responsive Teacher
Thinking together : Quality adult : Child interactions by Dewey Number: 372.21 DUNPublication Date: 2001- Introduction to reflective practice in early childhood education : A study guide and workbook byDewey Number: 372.01 NGAPublication Date: 2012
Take another look : a guide to observing children = Tirohia anō : he momo ārahi ki by Dewey Number: 305.231072 PENPublication Date: 2019
The power of guidance by
The Power of Guidance: Teaching Social-Emotional Skills In the Early Childhood Classroom gives readers valuable insight into using guidance in the early childhood setting through a collection of popular writings on this timely topic. Taking into consideration the social and emotional development in young children, the book examines such areas as understanding why children behave the way they do and how to use the guidance approach to succeed in teaching acceptable social behaviors. The material discusses the differences between such important concepts as patience and understanding and between misbehavior and mistaken behavior. These concepts provide insight into the importance of developing an encouraging classroom and how that leads to non-punitive strategies for managing the classroom setting. The popular guidance concept of this book attracted the attention of the NAEYC, which has made it a comprehensive member benefit for 2003.
Dewey Number: 372.14 GARPublication Date: 2003
Manākitanga Whānaungatanga: Principles and Practices
The Raupō phrasebook of modern Māori : the user-friendly guide for all New Zealanders by
The Raupo Phrasebook of Modern Maori is the most up-to-date, versatile and relevant resource for anyone wanting to use the Maori language in everyday life. Whether you’re a complete beginner or emergent speaker of te reo Maori.
Dewey Number: 499.442824 MORPublication Date: 2021
Tikanga Māori: Living by Māori values (Revised edition) by
This is an authoritative and accessible introduction to tikanga Māori for people wanting to understand the correct Māori ways of doing things.
Dewey Number: eBook and 305.899442 MEA on shelfPublication Date: 2016
Ki Te Whaiao by
Ki te Whaiao: An Introduction to Māori Culture and Society, is intended for students of Māori studies at tertiary institutions. It is also aimed at several other audiences: those Māori who want to know more about their own world, Pākehā living in this country, and people from overseas who want to learn about the history of the Indigenous people of Aotearoa/New Zealand. The book describes traditional and contemporary Māori society and its interaction with Pākehā society since first contact. It gives expression to the voices and words of Māori scholars and those informed by their world-view. Emphasis has been placed on the clarification of Māori cultural concepts throughout, in order to give readers a deeper understanding of the Māori world and to excite their interest in the key themes developed throughout the text. The book has been arranged in two parts Part one is called Te Ao Māori (The Māori World) and examines a series of topics encompassing tribal histories about the creation,important cultural concepts, the migration journeys to Aotearoa, the origins of the Māori language, cultural traditions and practices, leadership and Māori performing and fine arts. Part two, Ngā Ao e Rua (The Two Worlds) examines early contact between Māori and Pākehā, the Treaty and related issues, religion, sovereignty, education and literature, and ends with a chapter on the Pacific peoples in Aotearoa/New Zealand.
Dewey Number: 305.899442 KITPublication Date: 2004
Inclusion in the early years by
This insightful text shows how the attitudes of adults in early years settings can influence practice. The authors argue for a broad definition of inclusion, not limited to those with learning difficulties or impairment, but addressing factors affecting all members of the learning community. The book shows how the lives of practitioners, parents and children have been affected by inclusive and exclusionary practices. This new and revised edition includes an increased focus on: - inclusion as a political issue - social class - poverty - children's rights - gay and lesbian parents and staff This text is essential for all early years students, practitioners and researchers who want to become familiar with current research into inclusion and to develop ways of drawing on such studies to inform and devleop their own inclusive practices. Cathy Nutbrown is Professor of Education and Director for Research at the University of Sheffield. Peter Clough is Honorary Professor of Education at the University of Sheffield Frances Atherton is Head of Department of Early Childhood Studies, at the University of Chester.
Dewey Number: 371.9046 NUTPublication Date: 2013
Te aotūroa tātaki : inclusive early childhood education : perspectives on inclusion, social justice and equity from Aotearoa New Zealand by
Despite progressive law change and policy in support of inclusive education, questions remain about how, at the very practical level, early childhood education settings become places where everyone involved is able to say they feel they belong. With Aotearoa New Zealand’s population now being characterised as superdiverse and calls for recognition and respect for a diversity of human rights being increasingly heard, educators are facing questions over how they might work in the interests of equity, social justice and inclusion ever more keenly.
Dewey Number: 372.210993 AOTPublication Date: 2020 (2nd ed.)
Hauora Kotahitanga; Children's Wellbeing & Development
An Introduction to Child Development by
An Introduction to Child Development, Third Edition provides undergraduate students in psychology and other disciplines with a comprehensive survey of the main areas of child development, from infancy through to adolescence, in a readily accessible format. It equips students with an appreciation of the critical issues, while providing balanced coverage of topics that represent both classic and cutting edge work in this vast and fascinating field.The new edition has been fully updated and features: Topical research examples from current literature in psychology, education, nursing and medicine including new material on fetal learning and the role of play New and expanded sections covering key contemporary issues in cognitive, emotional and social development New features such as ′Points for Reflection′ boxes, designed to encourage the reader to reflect more deeply on the subject matter Access to an enhanced SAGE Edge companion website which features online readings, Powerpoint Slides, 'Test Yourself' questions and much more (https://edge.sagepub.com/keenan3e). This textbook is essential reading for undergraduate students taking an introductory course in child development or developmental psychology and provides a clear and accessible foundation for essays, assignments and other projects.
Dewey Number: 155.4 KEEPublication Date: 2016
Safety, nutrition and health in early education by
SAFETY, NUTRITION, AND HEALTH IN EARLY EDUCATION, Sixth Edition, uses theory, practical applications, and resources to prepare readers for a career in working with children from birth to age eight in multicultural and socioeconomically diverse early childhood settings. This book emphasizes healthy development, including environmental health and safety, active supervision, and how issues surrounding safety, nutrition, health, child maltreatment, and mental and emotional health can affect brain development. It also fully integrates NAEYC, DAP, and AAP/APHA professional standards throughout, and includes strategies for how to engage diverse families from various backgrounds and beliefs, and also those whose children have special needs.
Dewey Number: 372.21 ROBPublication Date: 2015
Health and Well-Being in Early Childhood by
The health and well-being of children is integral to learning and development but what does it actually mean in practice? This textbook draws on contemporary researchon the brain and mind to provide an up-to-date overview of the central aspects of young children's health and well-being - a key component of the revised EYFS curriculum. Critically engaging with a range of current debates, coverage includes early influences, such as relationships, attachment (attachment theory) and nutrition the role of the brain in health and well-being the enabling environment other issues affecting child development To support students with further reading, reflective and critical thinking it employs: case studies pointers for practice mindful moments discussion questions references to extra readings web links This current, critical and comprehensive course text will provide a solid foundation for students and practitioners on a wide range of early childhood courses, and empower them to support and nurture young children's health and well-being.
Dewey Number: 372.21 ROSPublication Date: 2015
- Safety, Health, and Nutrition in Early Childhood Education Chapters 12, 14 and 15 cover nutrition and menu planning
Mai I Rangiåatea by
Mai i Rangiatea provides some Maori perceptions of healthy growth and development. It introduces a Maori developmental discourse which affirms a cultural base with an affinity to the discourses of other indigenous peoples. Western concepts of human development have oversimplified the process by emphasizing individuality as the core, then generalizing to the whole. Maori acknowledgment of the interdependency between the individual and the group gives some basis for alternative discourses.
Dewey Number: 305.899442 MAIPublication Date: 1997
- The big picture [videorecording] : Te Whariki : Policy to practice : Early childhood curriculum materials for Aotearoa New Zealand by Explores the structure, aims and implementation of the early childhood curriculum, Te Whariki.Dewey Number: 372.210993 BIGPublication Date: 2000
- The first three years last forever [videorecording] = Whakapūmautia te oranga i ngā tau tuatoru by This DVD looks at how loving relationships in the first three years of life affect brain development. It contains simple, evidence-based information for families that can have profound implications for the future of their children.Dewey Number: 155.413 FIRPublication Date: 2008
Websites
