- Manukau Institute of Technology
- Library
- guides
- Hospitality, Food & Beverage Service
- Diploma in Hospitality Management
Hospitality, Food & Beverage Service
Top Texts
Food and beverage cost control by
Foodservice managers need a firm understanding and mastery of the principles of cost control in order to run a successful operation. With Food and Beverage Cost Control, Fifth Edition, Dopson and Hayes have created a comprehensive resource for both students and managers. Written in a user-friendly style, this text provides the necessary foundation in accounting, marketing, and legal issues, as well as foodservice, production, and sanitation. It also offers practical pedagogical tools, including chapter overviews, outlines, highlights, feature boxes, problems, Web links, technology tools, and key terms and concepts.
Dewey Number: 647.95068 DOPPublication Date: 2016
Introduction to management in the hospitality industry by
Readers seeking management careers in hospitality will enter a dynamic industry filled with opportunities. The rewards are many, but so are the challenges. Today's hospitality managers must deal with such complex factors as globalization, terrorism threats, ecotourism, internet commerce, new business and financial models, and rapidly changing consumer demands. Introduction to Management in the Hospitality Industry, 10th Edition gives readers the industry know-how and the management skills needed to thrive in all aspects of the field, from food service to lodging to tourism. The Tenth Edition of Introduction to Management in the Hospitality Industry features both historical perspectives and discussions of new trends in a variety of sectors. This book has the most thorough coverage of the hospitality industry, covering foodservice, lodging, and travel and tourism, hospitality careers, and hospitality management. Upon successful completion of this text, readers will have a strong grasp of the many facets of the hospitality industry.
Dewey Number: 647.94068 POWPublication Date: 2011
Marketing for hospitality and tourism by
For courses in Hospitality Marketing, Tourism Marketing, Restaurant Marketing, or Hotel Marketing. Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism, 7/e is the definitive source for hospitality marketing. Taking an integrative approach, this highly visual, four-color book discusses hospitality marketing from a team perspective, examining each hospitality department and its role in the marketing mechanism. These best-selling authors are known as leading marketing educators and their book, a global phenomenon, is the leading resource on hospitality and tourism marketing. The Seventh Edition of this popular book includes new and updated coverage of social media, destination tourism and other current industry trends, authentic industry cases, and hands-on application activities.
Dewey Number: 647.940688 KOTPublication Date: 2017
Hospitality Management by
Structured in three parts, this text covers the knowledge and skills required of frontline supervisors, managerial topics, and business strategy content.
Dewey Number: 647.94068 WAGPublication Date: 2019 (4th ed.)
Ebooks
Food and beverage management by Dewey Number: eBookPublication Date: 2018Find on the shelf at 647.95068 DAV
Food and beverage management : For the hospitality, tourism and event industries by
This fourth edition of the best selling textbook Food & Beverage Management has been updated and revised to take account of current trends within these industries
Publication Date: 2016
Hospitality Business Development by
Hospitality Business Development analyses and evaluates the different aspects of business growth routes and development processes in the international hospitality industry. It considers the essential features of the strategic business context, in which any hospitality organisation operates. Since the first edition, the hospitality industry has evolved significantly with the emergence of new entrants, new technologies and evolved global market structures. This new edition has been updated to reflect these developments in the field and includes the following: New contemporary topics such as social enterprises, business models, social capital, value proposition, co-creation and the sharing economy. Examples and case studies on hospitality organisations from across the world to demonstrate the globalisation of the hospitality business. A new up-to-date standard for explaining the hospitality business development concept, scope and process. This book equips students and aspiring hospitality managers with the necessary knowledge, expertise and skills in business development. It is a must-read for anyone studying or working in the hospitality industry.
Publication Date: 2019
Customer Service for Hospitality & Tourism by
A fully revised and updated new edition of this bestselling and a unique text that explains not only the theory behind the importance of customer service but also acts as a guidebook for those wishing to put this theory into practice. In essence it is the 'whys' and 'hows'of customer service.
Publication Date: 2022
Hotel Operations
Check-in check-out: Managing hotel operations by
The leading guide to managing profitable hotel operations. Extensively revised to reflect the industry's rapid changes, this widely popular guide presents rich detail about best practices and future directions in the hotel industry, while offering the widest coverage of any book in the field. Readers gain an intuitive understanding based on the flow of the guest's experience, from reservation, arrival, and registration, to service purchasing, departure, billing, and recordkeeping. The entire rooms division is covered thoroughly, and linked to other hospitality functions, related industries, and the broader economy. Coverage includes internationalization; green operations; financing sources; boutique and urban collections; and reservations strategies. Check-in Check-Out: Managing Hotel Operations, 10/e has been updated throughout to cover such current topics such as detail cancellation policies for major OTA channels, leading-edge technology and reservations, mobile apps and devices, global distribution, third-party housing poachers or pirates, conflicts over master billing, EMV technology and the rising popularity of smart cards, night audit reports, cyber security in the hospitality industry, and much more. Included are over 150 exhibits to promote visual learning.
Dewey Number: 647.94068 VALPublication Date: 2017
Managing front office operations by
0133457702 / 9780133457704 Managing Front Office Operations with Answer Sheet (AHLEI) & Managing Front Office Operations Online Component (AHLEI) -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0133430782 / 9780133430783 Managing Front Office Operations with Answer Sheet (AHLEI) 0133431320 / 9780133431322 Managing Front Office Operations Online Component (AHLEI) -- Access Card
Dewey Number: 647.94068 KASPublication Date: 2017
Events management
Planning and management of meetings, expositions, events and conventions by
For courses in meeting, event, and convention planning. Current, concise, and insightful--a modern guide to planning successful events Planning and Management of Meetings, Events, Expositions and Conventions, 1e is the first text of its kind to focus on planning (in addition to event management), and incorporates the Meeting and Business Events Competency Standards (MBECS). It is the most up-to-date book on planning and management in the meetings, expositions, events, and conventions (MEEC) industry and covers a wide range of topics dealing with these two crucial functions. The text follows a practical, hands-on approach and is an excellent resource for college courses, employee training, and professional reference. Developed as a collaborative work, the text features contributions from some of the best and most notable practitioners and educators in the field. Teaching and Learning Experience This text will provide a better teaching and learning experience--for you and your students. It provides: Preparation for careers in event planning: The text follows a practical, career-focused approach. Professional insight: Chaptersinclude advice and best practices from numerous industry insiders. Effective review tools: Learning and review tools facilitate understanding and promote skill mastery.
Dewey Number: 394.2 FENPublication Date: 2014
Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Magazines & Journals
- National Business ReviewDewey Number: 650.0993 NBR
- NZ businessDewey Number: 650.0993 NZB
- Asia Pacific journal of human resourcesDewey Number: 658.3 ASI