Tertiary Teaching
Articles
Find interesting articles using our Education databases
How to use the databases
- Click on the link
- Search your keywords
- Limit your search results using the side bar tools.
If you can't find what you looking for, contact your subject librarian.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 2,000 active indexed and abstracted journals in Education research. As well as more than 4,100 full-text education-related conference papers.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Contains articles in all areas of education. Useful for degree level research
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and indexes for articles on a range of education topics.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Useful for research for all courses diploma and above
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Useful for research for all courses diploma and above.
- Informit New Zealand Collection This link opens in a new window Contains articles on a wide range of topics relating to New Zealand culture and society.
Online e-journals
- Quarterly publication of the National Center for the study of adult learning and literacy. Best practices, current research on adult learning and literacy and how research is used. [N.B. The last issue of Focus on Basics was published in 2008. This is still a useful resource for adult education, however].
- A peer reviewed online journal covering all areas of assessment, research, evaluation and teaching practice.
- Journal of the Australian Council for Computers in Education.. Publication ceased in 2021
- Journal of open, flexible and distance learning Publication of the Flexible Learning Association of New Zealand
- Scope: Contemporary Research topics: Learning &TeachingJournal produced by Otago Polytechnic
eBooks
- Ngā Hau e Whā o Tāwhirimātea: Culturally Responsive Teaching and Learning for the Tertiary Sector This practical guide to culturally responsive teaching practice in the tertiary sector is designed to support kaiako (teachers) to reconfigure the teacher/learner dynamic and question old habits, with a view to embracing kaupapa Māori and diversity. Step by step, Ngā Hau e Whā o Tāwhirimātea explores core Māori values that can be used to enhance kaiako effectiveness and relationships with students – Māori and non-Māori alike
The adult learner by
How do you tailor education to the learning needs of adults? Do they learn differently from children? How does their life experience inform their learning processes? These were the questions at the heart of Malcolm Knowles s pioneering theory of andragogy which transformed education theory in the 1970s. The resulting principles of a self-directed, experiential, problem-centered approach to learning have been hugely influential and are still the basis of the learning practices we use today. Understanding these principles is the cornerstone of increasing motivation and enabling adult learners to achieve. This eighth edition has been thoughtfully updated in terms of structure, content, and style. On top of this, online material and added chapter-level reflection questions make this classic text more accessible than ever. The new edition includes: Two new chapters: Neuroscience and Andragogy, and Information Technology and Learning. Updates throughout the book to reflect the very latest advancements in the field. A companion website with instructor aids for each chapter. If you are a researcher, practitioner or student in education, an adult learning practitioner, training manager, or involved in human resource development, this is the definitive book in adult learning that you should not be without."
Publication Date: 2014
Experiential learning by
Experiential Learning enables educators, trainers, coaches and facilitators to unleash some of the more potent ingredients of learning through experience. It presents a simple model: the Learning Combination Lock, which illustrates the wide range of factors that can be altered to enhance the learning experience. The theory is brought to life with hundreds of examples from around the world and covers issues such as: experience and intelligence; facilitation, good practice and ethics; learning environments; experiential learning activities; and working with the senses and emotions. Experiential Learning offers the skills that can be successfully applied to a variety of settings including management education, corporate training, team-building, youth-development work, counselling and therapy, schools and higher education and special needs training. This fully updated third edition includes guidance for coaches, cutting edge new material on sensory intelligence and updated models, tools and case studies throughout.
Publication Date: 2013
- eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Our main provider of ebooks in all areas of study. Most titles we subscribe to, so you have unlimited access, but some titles the library buys access as needed and may require the Library's approval.
- Education eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains both introductory and detailed eBooks on a range of education topics.
New Zealand Websites
- The National Centre for Tertiary Teaching Excellence has a range of information covering NZ tertiary education including activities, funding, and news. Search the Resource Centre for quality, practical resources to support tertiary teaching & learning.
- Māori Learner Success A series of selected external resources curated by the team at Ako Aotearoa, grouped by key topics relating to Māori Learner Success.
- Provides a range of information about educational policy in New Zealand. Has links to other education websites including tertiary education.
- Quality New Zealand research resources and information for educators.
- Access to all the New Zealand standards and qualifications currently registered on the National Qualifications Framework, including adult education and training.
- Te Kete Ipurangi is a bilingual portal-plus web community, with quality-assured educational material.
- This website provides general information about copyright and the copying of extracts from printed published works such as books, journals and periodicals in New Zealand.
International websites
INTERNATIONAL WEBSITES
Explorations in Learning & Instruction: The Theory into Practice Database
A database of fifty major theories on human learning and instruction. Developed by Greg Kearsley.
University College Dublin Teaching & Learning
http://www.ucd.ie/teaching/index.html
Resources for course design, assessment design, e-learning, and much more.
MERLOT
http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm
A Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching that provides a searchable collection of peer reviewed and selected higher education, online learning materials.
University of Waterloo: Centre for Teaching Excellence
http://uwaterloo.ca/centre-for-teaching-excellence
Includes Teaching Tips which is a searchable collection of more than one hundred brief and practical documents that can help resolve issues in almost any teaching situation. This site also includes materials on blended learning, integrative learning, and educational technologies.
Reports
- Supporting Maori students Coffee Break Guides series
- Engaging Pasifika Students Coffee Break Guide Series
- From Good to Great: The 10 Habits of phenomenal educators for Pacific learners in New Zealand tertiary education The full report including case studies
- The Kato Toolkit What is the Kato’s purpose? To support educators in planning and developing teaching and learning theory and practices for the success and development of Pacific learners. We have identified the teaching and learning skills of educators that have benefits for effective teaching. Cultivating effective teaching and learning habits enables educators to be good learners and teachers.
- Creating Effective Presentations Coffee Break Guide series
- Helping Students Study Coffee Break Guide
- Supporting Autistic Tertiary Learners A set of guides to assist staff at tertiary education organisations to understand what autistic learners need from them to support them in their educational journey. These guides are organised around six main topics, based on common themes that emerged from the consultation process. The guides are informed by lived experience, published research and educational best practices.
Assessment
Classroom Assessment Techniques
http://www.siue.edu/~csantan/CAT.html
A page with material on classroom assessment techniques, with a particular focus on the Group Instructional Feedback Technique (GIFT).
Authentic Assessment Toolbox
http://jonathan.mueller.faculty.noctrl.edu/toolbox/index.htm
A step-by-step process for creating authentic assessment tools.
Te Kete Ipurangi, The online learning centre
http://www.tki.org.nz/r/assessment/
Provides information about all the aspects of assesment, including recent development, research and new tools.
Field-Tested Learning Assessment Guide (FLAG)
http://www.flaguide.org/
The National Institute for Science Education guide on assessment offering "broadly applicable, self-contained modular classroom assessment techniques (CATs) and discipline-specific tools" with instructors' own experiences with each method.
Librarian
Where to look
Use the Dewey number to find books in the Ōtara Campus library (NP Level 2)
| Education | 370 |
| Adult Education | 374 |
| Higher Education | 378 |
| Study Skills | 371.30281 |
| Online Instruction | 371.334 |